Work CAN be fun

Sales meetings on the golf course – a cliché?  For years I noticed, as soon as London was bathed in sunshine, the sales guys at work would start disappearing from the office.  There would be a look of resignation and a drooping of the shoulders as they stated that they wouldn’t be in the office the next day.  They were “taking a client out to play golf” they would say, with a weary sigh, as though this was business not pleasure.

Realising this for the scam it was, I decided to take golf lessons.  The first thing I learnt – you can’t play the odd round a few times a year and think that you’ll be the next Tiger Woods. Unfortunately.

So five years after my first lesson, and having moved out of sales and therefore no longer having the opportunity to entertain customers on the golf course (with my colourful language rather than my golfing ability), I FINALLY had the opportunity to play as someone else’s client.  And I have to say, if I could do business on the course instead of the office, how much easier it would be to get out of bed in the morning!  The beautiful surrounds of Gatton Manor, the hazy sunshine, the smell of fresh-cut grass and the trills of the birds – let these replace the sound of the phone, the glare of the flourescent lights and death by email.

Leave a Reply

